Home

Kumasi is New Orleans’ own full afrobeat orchestra. We fell in love with a style of music created by Fela Kuti and Tony Allen nearly 50 years ago, and now we’re bringing it to the people of New Orleans. We play some great Fela tunes, and some afro-funk from 70s Ghana, but the majority of our live show is original music, stemming from West African concepts, composed to make any crowd move and groove.

Kumasi is New Orleans’ own full afrobeat orchestra

We fell in love with a style of music created by Fela Kuti and Tony Allen nearly 50 years ago, and now we’re bringing it to the people of New Orleans. We play some great Fela tunes, and some afro-funk from 70s Ghana, but the majority of our live show is original music, stemming from West African concepts, composed to make any crowd move and groove.

Kumasi
Kumasi
Kumasi
Kumasi

MUSIC

OUR NEW ALBUM “AKOBEN”

VIDEO

UPCOMING SHOWS

LATEST INSTAGRAM

CONTACT US!

KUMASI NEWS

Happy 80th Birthday to our friend, Tony Allen. Tune in to this celebration of his life and career. 5pm in New Orleans.Tomorrow would have been Tony's 80th birthday. Join us in celebrating tomorrow night, with a retrospective premiering on Facebook produced by NYC's Miles Francis (former Antibalas drummer) - featuring tributes from afrobeat artists across the globe and special moments from Tony's long career.
12am Paris time / 11pm Lagos time / 6pm NYC time.

www.facebook.com/events/987397915058880
...

View on Facebook

Check out @hobnola for our reunion show featuring our friends @j_moonfruit and @dana_danee_ #fortheculture #blackvoices ...

View on Facebook

Tune in to @hobnola tonight at 7 for our reunion show, featuring our friend The King of Bounce @hasizzlethevoice ! #fortheculture #kingofbounce ...

View on Facebook